Home » pop culture » all the single ladies?

all the single ladies?

how come only Stacey is smiling?

Apparently I’ll watch anything with Stacey Dash in it.  Even if Lisa Ray is in it too.  I am watching Single Ladies, y’all.  It’s also probably because it’s summer, there nothing else on, and I live in the South so it’s still 80 degrees at 11pm and NObody wants to be outside in this weather.

I DVR it, because there’s too much I have to fast forward through to watch it live.  Basically I only care about Val (Dash) and her store.  I don’t like Lisa Ray on GP so that was already a hit against her.  Then her character is a former video…vixen…with no appreciable skills, looking for a rich man to keep her in the lifestyle to which she wants to become accustomed.  IMO, her only redeeming trait is being friends with Chilli.  I didn’t have anything against the girl who plays April.  You know I actually thought she was black for a second?  Yeah.  I was fooled.  Then it just started seeming to me as though she was trying to be the stereotype.  And I can’t tell if it’s the actress or the character.  But I still tried to give her the benefit of the doubt.  Until she said she was cheating on her husband.  Her husband spends much of his time singing her praises and talking about how much he loves her, and she’s cheating?  So now I ffwd through all the scenes between them.

Val is ok, though.  She’s the center of the show, but not always the center of attention.  She makes some bad decisions, but at least she’s a designer and into fashion and pretty awesome in that way.  So far, she doesn’t spend every episode centering the world around herself, or doing highly embarrassing things.  So I like her.  She is sometimes a little willy-nilly with the cookie, but that’s fine for VH1.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

No one will ever make a show about my life (unless it’s a sitcom – my life could actually totally be a sitcom),  and I don’t expect tv people to really be trying to…That said, who are these people that they’re making shows about?  Is this real on any level or pure fiction?  Cuz it feels like PURE fiction.  And if so, that’s fine.  But then we can all be clear.

The drama seems so stereotypical and forced at some points, with the obligatory gay friend there to give some tough love with a snap.  I guess I’m just disappointed because Queen La is producing the show, and this sucker is no Living Single.  Not in the least.

Is this one of those times where you support the crap so that next time they make something better?

Leave a Reply

