Home » my life » media consumption

media consumption

I’ve been watching a lot of tv in the last year – although I couldn’t actually tell you what, now that I think about it.  (Other than Bones.)  For some reason, thinking more at work makes me want to think less when I get home.  But I think I’m reaching a better equilibrium now that it’s summer and I’m getting more used to my job.

I’ve also been consuming more online media.  I’ve been a fan of This Week In Blackness for about 2 years, now, but just became aware of Blacking It Up this spring.  It is now a part of my life.  Most of the time I am totally cool with Elon and the crew, and it’s definitely a good time, with a bit of cool analysis and some relevant news interspersed with random music.  It’s where I first heard this:

Yeah.  That’s real.

Other than BIU, I’m basically checking the R, rr, shakesville, and Persephone every day.  Often multiple times a day.  Because I still live in Podunk.  And there’s this really annoying guy at work who ends up requiring me to take a break after I interact with him.  I was going to the NYT for my daily news, but when they put up the paywall, that was it.  Now it’s the Atlantic, Salon, CNN, GOOD, NPR, and other random places – still supplemented by the NYT.  Oh how I miss full access.

I’m trying to get back into writing more, so we’ll see how that goes.  In the meantime, check out my fave places on the web.  They’re cool.

Leave a Reply

