Home » dance » SYTYCD: the top ten! (or great lines, and lots of leaping)

SYTYCD: the top ten! (or great lines, and lots of leaping)

top 10

*written last night when I was still sans internet*

Debbie Allen is tonight’s guest judge [my fave guest judge] and I’m hoping for something better amongst this competition.  I really haven’t been thrilled with this season, but great things may still be in store.  All the partners are changing up this week, so we’ll see how that goes.  Additionally, the girls and guys will have more group numbers, so that should be fun – I tend to enjoy the group numbers for this season more than a lot of the partner pieces.

The girls are up first, with a Bollywood number by Nakul Dev Mahajan.  Every time they do Bollywood on the show I get a little apprehensive, but I super loved this choreography.  It was really fun, and crazy high energy.  Poor Janette’s veil kept flipping on her face, but she kept going with incredible panache.  I loved them all, and it was just a great piece.

Kayla and Evan get to be partners this week, and we’ll see how the Viennese Waltz works with their height difference.  But Tony and Melanie chose an excellent song and an excellent choreography for them.  I thought they really worked well together, although I don’t really know anything about the technical bits.

So now we start on the individual solos, with Brandon.  He just looks like a big kid to me.  And his solo wasn’t that compelling for me, either.

Now we’ve got the opposite height pairing, with Janette [shortest girl] and Ade [tallest guy].  Unfortunately, they’ve pulled Nap and Tab.  Blah.  Cross your fingers.  Not bad!  Janette is definitely a bendy girl.  Wow.  And now Nigel and Mary are putting on their own little show.  And Debbie is right, what is up with Ade mesmerizing her with a pick?

Randi’s solo was ok.  But I don’t think anyone’s solos have impressed me in a while.

tranji

i love Benji more, but Travis's choreo is hotttt

Travis is doing choreography now?  Cool.  I’m interested to see what he does.  I was never that into him, but he was good.  (Not as good as Benji, but that’s why Benji won, so, it’s all good.)

Kupono’s solo is the first of the night that was really fun for me – but it’s still…ok.

Jason and Jeanine are together as a couple – they both lost partners last week, so they’d’ve had new partners this week anyway…And now – working with Travis – it looks like it’s gonna be cool.  But it wasn’t.  It was freaking smoldering hot.  HOT hot.  The fire is smoking.  Burning like the sun.  What a perfect storm of choreography, concept, music, and dance.  Mary’s crying – calling them stars – but Debbie has the best commentary: calling the show a conversation of dance amongst the worldwide community.  Further – she says the show evangeliz[es] dance, and she is just glad to be a witness.  And yes – it got a lil bit spiritual while still being almost profane.  The new hotness: Travis the choreographer.

Melissa’s solo – continuing to demonstrate how solos aren’t as fun to watch as duos/groups.

Evan’s solo is probably the most fun to watch.  Broadway really lends itself to solo, apparently.

And we’re back to somewhat blah solos with Kayla.  Not that it was bad.  Just…the same as all the other girls leaping, doing splits, and having great lines.

Kupono and Randi are working with Tony and Melanie doing the paso doble.  I hope it works out.  The musical piece is very strong, but doesn’t flow well, so it’s kinda weird.  There are moments of beauty, but also moments of incredible awkwardness.  And, uh, they added hair to Randi?  That was weird.  The judges didn’t like it either.  And I’d say, the dancers didn’t really get it – but I thought the music was just an awful, awful choice.  Awful.

Ade’s solo reminds me that the girls aren’t the only ones with contemporary as their ‘home’ genre.  More leaping, more lines.

Jeanine’s solo reinforces what I thought last week – I don’t think she does good solos.  Hope she’s not going home.

Jason’s solo is the second best of the night, after Evan’s.  It’s got story, theme, and looks quite nice.  Oh…and so does he.  He’s a cutie.

So, Melissa and Janette traded partners.  Brandon and Melissa are together and I think hope they’ll be good together.  TyceD’s doing they’re Broadway choreo to a song from Hair, and I’m excited.  Aquarius?  Really?  YAY!!!!  Super fitting for them.  My mouth fell open when Brandon stood back up from a split in this reverse-split thing…And that lift they did that wasn’t really a lift…she was just on his legs…Amazing.  Awesome.

Whoo.  I don’t think anyone will forget where Janette is from.  She = Miami.  Up, down, and sideways.  3rd best solo of the night.

Jeffrey Page choreographs the guys in African dance.  Oooooh, wee…Evan.   Oooh wee.   I’m scared.  Oh, boy.  There were moments for each of the dancers where they hit it.  But there were a lot of…bad moments.  I saw what Jeffrey was going for, and the concept was beautiful.  Touchingly beautiful.  But, whoo wee.  They could’ve used a few more moments.  I don’t think any of them were really comfortable, and it really seemed like something they could’ve gotten into a bit more.  I do think that a hip-hop dancer might’ve been able to grasp the style a little easier.  The rhythm was fast paced, but not unfamiliar.

My favorites: Melissa, Janette, Kayla, Ade, Brandon, Jason.   [But I still love Evan and Randi.]

*being back online is incredible, because I had no idea how dependent I am on this crazy web thing.  YAY!*

Leave a Reply

