Home » music » the music of my life

the music of my life

Seems like music is everywhere, all the time in my life.  I’ve been singing since I was 2, and there’s always a song in my head.  This has become a wondrous gift in the last 6 months or so, when things at work were so incredibly bad…Songs of encouragement, and strength, and songs that mirrored my pain flew into my mind at turns.  Comforting, reassuring, inspiring me.

Often, though, I sing what I’m doing.  And I don’t realize it until someone else hears me.  This makes for some awkward conversations, sometimes.  My favorite inconsistency about my personal musical soundtrack is the fact that I always sing a song when I get my spoon in the lunchroom at work.  I do not sing one when I only get a fork.  My spoon song is not lyrically intensive – as evidenced here:

Spoon – eh, spoon – eh, spoooon.  Spoon – eh, spoon – eh, Spoon.

But it’s very fun to sing.  I find that the word fork is just not quite so musical.

So, today on CNN I saw this on the crawl: music a ‘mega-vitamin’ for the brain.  And reading the article, I see

[music is] capable of influencing and improving motor function, communication and even cognition.

That’s pretty cool.

I totally know it’s great for memory, because I’ve memorized an awful lot of songs in my life.  From commercials to tv theme songs to pop songs, folk songs, and hymns.  And putting history facts to music [a la SchoolHouse Rock], is how I’ll never forget that women got the right to vote in 1920 – via the 19th amendment to the Constitution.  And, of course, that’s how I learned the Preamble.

Right now though, this is what’s running through my head:

blame it on the Goose – gotcha feelin’ loose
blame it on the ‘trón – got you in the zone
blame it on the a-a-a-a-a-alcohol, blame it on a-a-a-a-a-alcohol
blame it on the vodka, blame it on the Henny
blame it on the blue tap got you feelin dizzy
blame it on the a-a-a-a-a-alcohol, blame it on a-a-a-a-a-a-a-alcohol

what can I say? I love Jamie Foxx.  The song is hot.  Even if his voice is lost in all the autotune [which isn’t even necessary].

Oh, and of course there are all those posts about MC on Racial-isshas which have had me a tad fired up sometimes.  Mariah’s been part of the soundtrack of my life since I was…12? – yeah – 1990.  And I remember hearing Vision of Love and thinking YES!  This is the voice!  I only heard her on black radio stations until Someday came out.  I remember watching most of her vids on BET.  And yet, almost 20 yrs later [I cannot even believe that, btw], folks are still talking about her race as though she’s been keeping it a secret.

I suppose if you never read or watched an interview, never listened to her music, and never took context clues from who she hangs out with [which understandably is not actually a race-marker, but can provide clues, nonetheless], you can get a pass fr not knowing Mariah’s daddy was black.  But if ya don’t know – now ya know.

“we gotta have heat.”  “it takes time to get money.” “yeah, I know it does.”  heh.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about “untitled“, posted with vodpod
ps – check out the video outtakes on youtube – cute.
Leave a Reply

