Home » movies » we all look alike, you know

we all look alike, you know

they could be twins, right?

they could be twins, right?

A long time ago, when family comedies were more fun and less stupid [i.e. when I was a kid, and a prime consumer of these movies], my family was eating dinner at the Olive Garden in our town.  We only ever went out to eat for birthdays, and Mother’s and Father’s day, so it was some kind of special occasion – but there is only one thing I remember from that particular evening.  A somewhat loud group was seated in the booth directly behind us, and at the age of 1416, I needed no coaxing to eavesdrop.  They began to talk about that movie Sister Act, and how wonderfully funny Oprah was in it.

That’s right.  Oprah.

I overheard this, asked my family if they’d heard it, and immediately shared the story, cuz I found it hilarious.  We all had a good laugh, and sometimes even now, we’ll remember those crazy white people, and how they can’t tell one of us from the other.

You gotta laugh, right?

Tonight, I finally saw Star Trek – with my man Zachary Quinto, lovely young star of Heroes fame.  I really liked it.  I’ve never been into Star Trek, or anything like that, and have never seen any of the movies or watched more than one episode of the shows, so I was a pretty blank slate.  I’d heard the “live long and prosper”, and the “space: the final frontier…” before, but that was it.  The shows always came across as a little bit fake to me.  Maybe it seemed like some of the set was cardboard, or…just not very believable to me.  Plus, the trekkies I knew were very intense.  I couldn’t get into that, so I just left it as one of things I wasn’t going to be into.

Then this movie came out, and I was intrigued.  They’d finally made a Star Trek movie I wanted to see – one that started at the beginning, so I wouldn’t be confused.

The story and effects were excellent, IMO.  Definitely something I can keep coming back to, since the sequels are already a done deal.

Spock is definitely my fave person, I think I relate to him and his personality more.  But I definitely groove more off of John Cho, whom I have loved since Better Luck Tomorrow [along with Parry Shen, who I had a bit of a crush on, as well].  I think John Cho is super hot, so, all his screen time is golden, IMO.   I actually got a little pissed when someone pointed out a mistake that his character made, during the movie.  I love to see Zoe Saldana in movies, but in this one, I felt like there wasn’t much there for her to do.  She and ZQ did seem to vibe by the end of the movie, but at some points, her character seemed almost 2-D.  They’ve got to give her more depth if they want to make it more of an ensemble.  Although, I don’t really know how the Trek movies/shows go, so maybe they’re just sticking with the original ideas for her.  I really don’t like the guy who plays Kirk, [just on GP, I don’t really have anything against him, I just don’t like him], so I prefer all the other times that the movie is propelled forward by alternate cast members.  I love love love Simon Pegg, (tho I couldn’t tell you why, really, I just do) so Scotty’s a real winner for me.  All-in-all, good movie.  Two thumbs up, fine holiday fun.

I can kinda see a resemblance...kinda.

I can kinda see a resemblance..

Now, here are my two favorite audience interaction moments:

  • You hear him before you see him.  And you’re not sure if you can believe your ears.  Then you see him.  Tyler Perry.  And all the black people in the theater laughed.  Just seeing his face.  It was hilarious.
  • Walking out of the movie, I was behind an older white couple [late 50s/early 60s], and the wife says to the husband, “I didn’t know Will Smith’s wife was going to be in that movie…

You gotta laugh, right?

2 thoughts on “we all look alike, you know

Leave a Reply

