Home » my life » keep the faith, y’all: real idol competition begins

keep the faith, y’all: real idol competition begins

Today’s my birthday, and I’m realizing that lately I’ve been blogging Idol more than anything else.  I dunno what’s up, other than work’s been getting me down, lately, and I haven’t really had the energy to get deep.

Tonight’s Michael Jackson night, and the performances aren’t sucking!  I’m surprised.  I had no expectations for this season.  But these folks are ok.

lil-roundsLil The Way you make Me Feel – Lil’s performance was upbeat, and technically correct, but not very inspiring for me.  Randy seemed to think that she made the song new again.  Not so much for me.  It was a good song choice, though.

Scott Keep the Faith – Another good song choice, IMO.  He sounded great, the piano playing kept everything grounded, and the song was so hopeful, it was perfect in continuing to endear him to the audience.

Danny PYT – High energy, great song choice!  Vocals were perfect.  Perfect.  Probably the best performance of the night.

Michael You Are Not Alone – High praise from the judges, I’m not sure why.  The performance wasn’t that good.  He can sing, but his voice isn’t something that I really like listening to.  Just not my style.

Jasmine I’ll Be There – Great voice, strong singing.  I didn’t really get anything special from this performance, though.  I feel like she needs more practice.  I think it’s cuz she’s young.

Paula’s looking really strange this week.  Is it the makeup? or the wig?

Kris Remember the Time – I love this song.  This guy doesn’t really have the voice for it.  Or maybe it’s his style.  I don’t like this.  Why do the judges like this so much?

Allison Give In To Me – I remember this song.  I like it.  But how long has Idol been on?  This girl knew she wanted to be on Idol when she was 9??  Way to make me feel old on my bday.  She’s put her own spin on the song and it was good.  I don’t know how many people knew this song, but I love it.

Anoop Beat It – I’m not surprised that he chose this song.  It’s in the same vein as My Prerogative as far as style goes.  Not really demanding vocally, but big on personality.  And he didn’t make any major mistakes.  It was purely for the fans, as the judge pretty much trashed him.  I love this guy, and I hope he has a better song choice next week – if he’s still on the show.

Jorge Never Can Say Goodbye – I remain amazed at his ability to sing without an accent.  It’s unbelievable to me, because I can’t imagine trying to do it myself.  But he’s pretty much flawless.  I thought the song choice was pretty safe, and a little boring, though.  Gotta agree with Kara – he should have chosen She’s Out of My Life.

Megan Rockin’ Robin – Cute, tinily edgy – because of her voice – and I like it, but I’m not sure why.  She’s a little bit weird.

Adam Black or White – Paula loves him a little too much.  He’s kinda scaring me.  I hate this.  This is awful.  Awful.  It must’ve sounded better in the auditorium.  Woo.  Wow, Paula.  Crying?  I thought that was awful.  From the judges comments, this definitely must’ve sounded different there.

Matt Human Nature – I love this song.  His voice is nice and smooth, so the song works for him.  The piano work is a lil superfluous to me.  And some of his falsetto was off, but it was a good performance overall.  The mention of JT and Robin Thicke is kinda weird, since his face is not nearly as attractive.  [And Robin Thicke isn’t even that cute.  Of course, now that I think about it, JT isn’t looking quite as babe-a-licious as he once was.]

Alexis Dirty Diana – Great performance, although those twitchy moments got repetitive.  I didn’t get the “oversung” vibe, though.

On the review, I still like Danny as best performance.  I’m afraid Anoop might be going home if I don’t vote, so…Vote 08, y’all!  [I think Kris and Jorge should go. Just me.  Maybe Adam will sing something I can get into next week.]

And I’m interested to see what this twist with the judges will be…Idol is nothing if not genius at keeping its viewers.

Now Go Vote!



One thought on “keep the faith, y’all: real idol competition begins

Leave a Reply

