Home » pop culture » dancin’ dancin’ dancin’

dancin’ dancin’ dancin’

I am a dancing show addict, and SYTYCD  feeds my soul.

So, I’m loving tonight.

Kherington and Twitch were great in hip-hop.  Although, I barely saw Kherington, since Twitch was on fire (in his element).  Busta Rhymes, Tabitha & Napoleon, and Twitch.  Perfect combo.

Courtney and Gev made the rumba look like hot sex on a platter.  Seriously.  The slide down Gev’s leg started out so lovely – then it got a little awkward.  It was a beautiful piece, though, and frankly amazing that Courtney could dance with only half a dress on (beautiful tho it was).  All in all, I think the choreography allowed them to shine, because the steps didn’t demand too much.

Comfort and Chris and jazz…to ‘Beautiful People’ by Marilyn Manson?  Weird me out.  Weird me out like crazy.  The judges should’ve talked about the disconnect between the choreography and the music, but I think they went easy on Tyce cuz he was there.

Will and Jessica’s disco.  Seemed a bit sloppy actually.  There were long portions of this routine that fell flat, in my opinion.  There were moments that Will stole the shine in a big way, and I just didn’t think Jess could hold a candle to him.  I wonder who would partner him better…I dunno

Kourtni and Matt do their own genre: contemporary.  Sometimes I don’t get contemporary.  I was looking for the ‘freeze frames’ for the comic book story, but I didn’t quite see them.  The synchrony was lovely, and I like these guys, but I wouldn’t be surprised if they’re in the bottom 3 couples tomorrow night.

Chelsea T. and Thayne meet the quickstep.  Oh scary.  Not too bad, though.  It seemed slow in places, but the footwork was cooler to watch in the 2nd half than the first.  Quickstep is not my cuppa, so eh.  ‘Nother bottom 3 couple.

Chelsea H. and Mark.  (Mark really looks like this guy that I know who’s in the Navy.  Apropos of nothing, but whatev.)  Woo.  Hip-hop.  I like Napoleon and Tabitha’s routines.  Wow.  They really did it.  And the song choice was su-perb.

This is something I think more of the choreographers need to consider – song choice.  Choosing some obscure song no one’s ever heard, or a song that people do not associate with the emotion supposedly coming from the choreography only hurts the performers.  (I’m lookin at YOU Tyce.)

Katee and Josh do the samba.  Very well.  I’m no ballroom judge, but I thought this was awesome!  Katee and Josh’s personalities mesh so well, they just look beautiful on the floor.  These guys are the couple to beat, IMO.  No one delivers like they do.  NO ONE. [PS – Nigel asking if Josh got his butt from his father?  TMI.  And a tad uncomfortable.  For me, anyway.]

I dunno how things are gonna turn out tomorrow night, but I think there should be an elimination of choreographers who choose awful music, along with dancers who don’t make the cut.  We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

