Home » my life » highs & lows

highs & lows

My mind has been racing for days.

Work has been stressful – not just from dealing with my boss and never knowing how the moods were gonna be, but cuz I’ve been working on this project for months and I can’t seem to get a reliable method developed to test this new supplier’s sample.  (There’s got to be something in the sample matrix that is interfering with the Fe analysis by AA, because standards and current supplier samples all run fine.  But that’s all chemistry talk, and I really don’t want to talk about it on my downtime…)  So, there’s been all of that, and the fact that I forgot about one thing that I needed to get trained on before my review in June [can you believe it’s almost June?].  Thankfully, I got the training this week, and when I get back, I should be able to do a little bit more with that, if need be.

Ahhh…did you note that I said “when I get back”?  That’s right, my long overdue vacation begins this weekend.  I’m so excited to be going to NYC again, and from there to Italy for a week.  I’m finally going to see Wicked.  I know it’s been playing for years, now, but hey – I don’t have the NYC hookup I once did.  I’ve been pretty lax in my Rome research though, and I still have some reading to do in my guidebook.  Gotta say though, the Rough Guides are the best.  (I got some other kind of guide when we went to London and it was horrible.  Rough Guides are written to be read and used.  The maps are more useful, and the books are generally more tailored to what I want to know about the places that I’m going.  The one I got for Paris was awesome!)

Anyway, back to Rome.  I’m taking some pennies to throw into the Trevi fountain – cuz I wanna go back, but there’s no way I’m throwing a freakin’ euro in there.  I don’t even wanna think about the exchange rate.

Not that I’m some kind of miser or anything – considering how I’ve used this trip as an excuse to go shopping for the last three weeks.  But hey, money’s for the spending, right?

So, I can’t wait.

I’ve been thinking about a lot of other stuff that I may write about later, but right now I’m on full vacation mode.

Leave a Reply

