Home » movies » sweeney todd

sweeney todd

So one day, Tim Burton walks up to Johnny Depp and says, “Hey – wanna do a movie together?” and Johnny Depp is like – “Um.  Yeah.”

And another collabo was born.

Enjoying this movie depends on how you watch it and what you like.  Here’s how I enjoyed it – and i did enjoy it.  I mostly just watched it..more like an actual Broadway show, than a movie..but at the moments of severe bloodletting, I only listened [since there was really great music happening during some of the … barbering.]

Steven Sondheim is awesome, and I would love the soundtrack to this movie.  I love the music.  The story is also pretty good.  Maybe even very good.  Watching it all play out though…not so nice.  If you’re into the Tim Burton/Johnny Depp/Helena Bonham Carter macabre thing, you’ll have a field day.  If you’re like me, and aren’t particularly into throatslitting visuals, do something else while you watch this.

I was quite taken by the young actor playing Anthony.  His voice was quite clear and beautiful.  He looks very feminine to me, but he’s cute nonetheless.

Alan RIckman and Timothy Spall will give you Harry Potter flashbacks, but they play their parts well – as does Sacha Baron Cohen.  I had no idea Cohen was in this movie, but he did well.  Certainly quite different from what I’ve seen him do before.  [aside – I saw Borat.  hated it.  Not my style at all.  But I liked Talladega Nights.]

All in all, if you’re into musicals – you should at least check out the soundtrack.

Leave a Reply

