Home » pop culture » Idols in Church

Idols in Church

My face is drawn up right now, as I watch the ‘top 8’ perform the unlikeliest show opener I’ve ever seen.

Shout to the Lord.  Seriously.  The one that begins ~ “My Jesus, my Savior, Lord there is none like You.”

I had to stop and call my sister before the first phrase was over because I was so incredulous I thought my brain might leap out of my head.  I’m not sure why I can’t articulate the reasons that my gut reaction to the song choice was actually to be offended.  I am a Christian, and I actually like that song.  So what was it that got to me?

Well, is every one of the Idol hopefuls a Christian?  I mean, the words of the song…they speak for themselves.  For people who aren’t into Jesus, what must singing this song be like?

And then there’s the audience – just as diverse as America.  Is this song relating to…America? [all of it?]

Something about it just doesn’t seem…kosher.  [literally, actually]

Oh yeah – and Jordin Sparks and Chris Brown .  ‘No Air’.  Great song.

Leave a Reply

