Home » my life » work sucks, I know

work sucks, I know

…roses eaten by deers, surprises let me know they’re here…

Naw, really, I had the most heinous day at work today – it took me close to 2 hours to really chill out.  I have boss issues.  My sister calls these types of people “hot and cold”, cuz they run both ways on ya, and it’s hard to figure how they’ll be on any given day.  That and the fact that they could treat you terribly one day, and then be good as gold the next, just enough to lull you back into that false sense of sanity before they drag you back into the bedlam of miscommunication/blame/shame and inevitable yelling.

My philosophy is that no matter how much I enjoy work – the people, the activities, the challenges, the accomplishments – it’s still just a job.  At the end of the day, I get to come back home to my real life.  Whatever that might be.  Generally, unless something spectacular happens [good or bad], I don’t think about work when I’m not there.  When I’m on vacation, I don’t wonder what folks are doing back at the office/in the lab.  I certainly don’t *call*.  –And I’m single.

My boss is married.  And yet, finds the time to communicate with the office on vaca.  Takes everything to heart, so much that she got so worked up at a meeting, once, that she actually busted a blood vessel in her eye!  for real.

To me that’s crazy, and means that you need to spend some quality time in a serenity garden.  Or you’ll end up killing yourself.

Thank God for the weekend!

Leave a Reply

