Home » politics » another one bites the dust

another one bites the dust

Presidential hopefuls are dropping like flies, these days. Can’t say I’m sorry to see Mr. Romney go, except for the self-serving reasons that -had he won the nomination- he woulda been easier to beat. [I know Republicans who would vote Democrat before they’d vote for Romney.] Now, he was funding his own campaign by this point, which I’m sure got expensive, so I can understand why he’d wanna throw in the towel. But the bogus reason he seemed to give was a doozy.

His ‘graceful’ exit was marred only by the bizarre notion he posited as his parting joust at the Democratic Party. He mentioned Hillary and Obama and their history-making roles, and then he made mention that if either one of them won, the terrorists would ‘win’. [or be ’emboldened’, or some such buzzword] Seriously? The terrorists are cheering for either a woman or a black guy to win? Woo.

Here’s an actual quote:

Mitt Romney suspended his bid for the Republican presidential nomination Thursday, saying if he continued it would “forestall the launch of a national campaign and be making it easier for Senator Clinton or Obama to win.”

“In this time of war, I simply cannot let my campaign be a part of aiding a surrender to terror. This is not an easy decision. I hate to lose,” the former Massachusetts governor said.

“If this were only about me, I’d go on. But it’s never been only about me. I entered this race because I love America, and because I love America, in this time of war I feel I have to now stand aside for our party and for our country.” –CNN

Crazy.

Thankfully, at least, Britney’s retreated from everyday front pages news, cuz she’s gonna be institutionalized for another – oops, shoulda checked myself, trent’s got other news.

Oh well, we’ll see how things go.

Leave a Reply

